The Fisher Lass

Product Number: WEB103120
Released: 01 Oct, 1999
Business Term: OBOU 1 Year or 26 Circs
ISBN: #9781743282212
Publisher: Macmillan
Please log in to view pricing


A love story as powerful and restless as the mighty North Sea Flame-haired Jeannie Buchanan has spent all her life in the shadow of the dark North Sea. Working with freezing fingers to gut the precious herring, she follows the fleet south, travelling far away from her Scottish home. When her beloved father's trawler goes missing, Jeannie must face up to life on her own. But her fiery temper and fierce independence attract powerful and devious enemies. By standing up to the Hayes-Gorton family, she could be threatening the future of those she cares for most. By denying a man prepared to sacrifice all his privileges for a chance to offer his devotion, she could be facing years of unhappiness. Amidst the great social upheaval of the inter-war years, Jeannie must search again for the real love she has always denied herself... Margaret Dickinson's novel brilliantly evokes the dramas of those who are born to the fishing way of life. Born in Gainsborough, Lincolnshire, Margaret Dickinson moved to the coast at the age of seven and so began her love for the sea and the Lincolnshire landscape. Her ambition to be a writer began early and she had her first novel published at the age of twenty-five. This was followed by twenty-five further titles including 'Plough the Furrow', 'Sow the Seed' and 'Reap the Harvest', which make up her Lincolnshire Fleethaven trilogy. Many of her novels are set in the heart of her home county but in 'Tangled Threads and Twisted Strands', the stories include not only Lincolnshire but also the framework knitting and lace industries of Nottingham. Her most recent novel, 'Jenny's War', was a top twenty best seller in the UK.

Author(s): Margaret Dickinson
Original Publish Date: 01 Oct, 1999

Stay up to date with Wavesound news and announcements

telling your story