All the Murmuring Bones

CD - unabridged
(9 CDs)
Product Number: CX7460
Released: 01 Nov, 2021
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781004053476
Narrator(s): Aoife McMahon
Publisher: W F Howes
Please log in to view pricing

Description

For fans of Naomic Novick and Katharine Arden, a dark gothic fairy tale from award-winning author Angela Slatter. Orphaned as a young child, Mirin O'Malley has been brought up by her grandparents on their isolated, rambling estate Hob's Hallow. Long ago her family prospered due to a deal struck with the mer, the terrifying creatures who live in the depths of the sea: safety for their merchant ships in return for a child of each generation. But for many years the family have been unable to keep their side of the bargain and their fortunes have suffered as a result. When Mirin's grandfather dies, her grandmother puts in train a plan to restore their glory - but at the price of Mirin's freedom. Finding amongst her grandfather's papers evidence that her parents may still be alive, Mirin is determined to escape and discover the truth about her origins. This takes her on a treacherous journey to Blackwater, the estate her parents built when they fled Hob's Hallow, but on arrival Mirin finds the estate in decline and her 'Uncle Edward' in charge: where are her parents, and who is this Edward Elliott really? A story of mystery and magic and the strange creatures that lurk beneath the waves. “Like the sea at its heart, Slatter s haunting story is treacherous and lovely in all its dark depths.” HEATHER KASSNER, author of The Bone Garden "Slatter's dark fantasies have a bright, burning core of understanding and insight." M.R. CAREY, author of The Girl with All the Gifts and The Boy on the Bridge. Praise for A.G.Slatter: "Angela Slatter's stories are horrific, mysterious, whimsical, and mischievous. Beautifully written, full of humanity and intelligence, her stories are both timely and timeless in their concerns. This is an essential collection from one of our best." Paul Tremblay, author of A Head Full of Ghosts and The Cabin at the End of the World. "Marvellous stuff! Angela Slatter confronts the darker side of humanity in these bracing meditations on the nature of belief, betrayal, and wonder." Helen Marshall, author of The Migration "Angela Slatter is a literary fabulist and an emotional realist. These are stories of men's cruelties and women's revenges, told with the ferocity, complexity and wit that ranks their author among the finest working in the field today." Kim Newman, author of Anno Dracula "Angela Slatter writes some of the darkest, most beautiful stories in the world today." Nathan Ballingrud, author of North American Lake Monsters

Author(s): A.G. Slatter
Original Publish Date: 01 Nov, 2021

All Formats/Editions

MP3 CD
x-large
Author(s): A.G. Slatter
Narrator(s): Aoife McMahon
Product Number MPCD6136
Released: 01 Nov, 2021
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: W F Howes
ISBN: #9781004053490
Playaway
x-large
Author(s): A.G. Slatter
Narrator(s): Aoife McMahon
Product Number D6992
Released: 01 Nov, 2021
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: W F Howes
ISBN: #9781004053483

Stay up to date with Wavesound news and announcements

telling your story