Christmas in Plains

Memories
Product Number: WEB317660
Released: 19 Oct, 2001
Business Term: OBOU 2 Years
ISBN: #9780743225649
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Jimmy Carter remembers Christmas in Plains, Georgia, the source of spiritual strength, respite, friendship, and vacation fun in this charming portrait.In a beautifully rendered portrait, Jimmy Carter remembers the Christmas days of his Plains boyhood-the simplicity of family and community gift-giving, his father's eggnog, the children's house decorations, the school Nativity pageant, the fireworks, Luke's story of the birth of Christ, and the poignancy of his black neighbors' poverty. Later, away at Annapolis, he always went home to Plains, and during his Navy years, when he and Rosalynn were raising their young family, they spent their Christmases together recreating for their children the holiday festivities of their youth. Since the Carters returned home to Plains for good, they have always been there on Christmas Day, with only one exception in forty-eight years: In 1980, with Americans held hostage in Iran, Jimmy, Rosalynn, and Amy went by themselves to Camp David, where they felt lonely. Amy suggested that they invite the White House staff and their families to join them and to celebrate. Nowadays the Carters' large family is still together at Christmastime, offering each other the gifts and the lifelong rituals that mark this day for them. With the novelist's eye that enchanted readers of his memoir An Hour Before Daylight, Jimmy Carter has written another American classic, in the tradition of Truman Capote's A Christmas Memory and Dylan Thomas's A Child's Christmas in Wales.

Author(s): Jimmy Carter
Original Publish Date: 19 Oct, 2001

All Formats/Editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Jimmy Carter
Narrator(s): Jimmy Carter
Product Number OB65863
Released: 01 Oct, 2001
Business Term: OBOU 2 Years
ISBN: #9780743563710

Stay up to date with Wavesound news and announcements

telling your story