Fossil Men

The Quest for the Oldest Fossil Skeleton and the Origins of Human Kind
eAudio - unabridged
(15.35 hours)
Product Number: OB75872
Released: 10 Nov, 2020
Business Term: OBOU Purchase
ISBN: #9780062660039
Narrator(s): Roger Wayne
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A behind-the-scenes account of the discovery of the oldest skeleton of a human ancestor, named A??ArdiA??A??a find that shook the world of paleoanthropology and radically altered our understanding of human evolution. In 1994, a team led by fossil-hunting legend Tim WhiteA??A??the Steve Jobs of paleoanthropologyA??A??uncovered the bones of a human ancestor in EthiopiaA??s Afar region. Radiometric dating of nearby rocks indicated the skeleton, classified as Ardipithecus ramidus, was 4.4 million years old, more than a million years older than A??Lucy,A?? then the oldest known human ancestor. The findings challenged many assumptions about human evolutionA??how we started walking upright, how we evolved our nimble hands, and, most significantly, whether we were descended from an ancestor that resembled todayA??s chimpanzeeA??and repudiated a half-century of paleoanthropological orthodoxy. Fossil Men is the first full-length exploration of Ardi, the fossil men who found her, and her impact on what we know about the origins of the human species. It is a scientific detective story played out in anatomy and the natural history of the human body. Kermit Pattison brings into focus a cast of eccentric, obsessive scientists, including one of the worldA??s greatest fossil hunters, Tim WhiteA??an exacting and unforgiving fossil hunter whose virtuoso skills in the field were matched only by his propensity for making enemies; Gen Suwa, a Japanese savant who sometimes didnA??t bother going home at night to devote more hours to science; Owen Lovejoy, a onetime creationist-turned-paleoanthropologist; Berhane Asfaw, who survived imprisonment and torture to become EthiopiaA??s most senior paleoanthropologist and who fought for African scientists to gain equal footing in the study of human origins; and the Leakeys, for decades the most famous family in paloanthropology. An intriguing tale of scientific discovery, obsession and rivalry that moves from the sun-baked desert of Africa and a nation caught in a brutal civil war, to modern high-tech labs and academic lecture halls, Fossil Men is popular science at its best, and a must read for fans of Jared Diamond, Richard Dawkins, and Edward O. Wilson.

Author(s): Kermit Pattison
Imprint: HarperAudio
Original Publish Date: 10 Nov, 2020

Stay up to date with Wavesound news and announcements

telling your story