Where the Past Begins

A Writer's Memoir
Product Number: WEB172195
Released: Oct 17, 2017
Business Term: OBOU 26 Circs
ISBN: #9780007585564
Publisher: Fourth Estate
Please log in to view pricing


From New York Times bestselling author Amy Tan, a memoir on her life as a writer, her childhood and the symbiotic relationship between fiction and emotional memory. In Where the Past Begins, bestselling author of The Joy Luck Club and The Valley of Amazement Amy Tan is at her most intimate in revealing the truths and inspirations that underlie her extraordinary fiction. By delving into vivid memories of her traumatic childhood, confessions of self-doubt in her journals, and heartbreaking letters to and from her mother, she gives evidence to all that made it both unlikely and inevitable that she would become a writer. Through spontaneous storytelling, she shows how a fluid fictional state of mind unleashed near-forgotten memories that became the emotional nucleus of her novels. Tan explores shocking truths uncovered by family memorabilia - the real reason behind an I.Q. test she took at age six, why her parents lied about their education, mysteries surrounding her maternal grandmother - and, for the first time publicly, writes about her complex relationship with her father, who died when she was fifteen. Supplied with candour and characteristic humour, Where the Past Begins takes readers into the idiosyncratic workings of her writer's mind, a journey that explores memory, imagination, and truth, with fiction serving as both her divining rod and link to meaning.

Author(s): Amy Tan
Original Publish Date: Oct 17, 2017

All Formats/Editions

Author(s): Amy Tan
Narrator(s): Amy Tan
Product Number OB7316
Released: Oct 17, 2017
Business Term: OBOU Purchase
ISBN: #9780008242305

Stay up to date with Wavesound news and announcements

telling your story