David Hewson

Nationality: British
Born: January 9, 1953

David Hewson is a contemporary British author of mystery novels. His series of mysteries, featuring the young detective and art lover Nic Costa, began with A Season for the Dead. The author's debut novel, Shanghai Thunder, was first published in 1986 and has developed a hugely successful readership following. His second book, Semana Santa, won the W.H. Smith Fresh Talent prize in 1996. Its film adaptation was later released in 2002. Hewson has also written a number of standalone novels, including Lucifer's Shadow and The Promised Land. In June 2011 David Hewson announced he would write the novels based on the hugely popular television series turned global phenomenon, The Killing, which are available now from W. F. Howes.


In 2008, Hewson and narrator Saul Reichlin won the prize for best unabridged audiobook in the UK for The Seventh Sacrament. In 2009 the sixth Nic Costa novel, The Garden of Evil, won the American Library Association's best genre fiction reading list award for mystery.

David Hewson

Stay up to date with Wavesound news and announcements

telling your story