All Featured Authors

Agatha Christie

Agatha Christie is one of the world’s best-selling novelists to date, as well as a cherished national treasure. Christie’s collection of intriguing sagas and mysteries have proven the test of time; never going out of style.

Allan Mallinson

Allan Mallinson is a former army officer of thirty-five years’ service worldwide.

Bernard Cornwell

Bernard Cornwell is one of the most well-known historical authors to date. Cornwell is best known for his creation of the Sharpe series, starring the much-loved and daring Richard Sharpe.

Chris Brookmyre

Chris Brookmyre is a Scottish novelist whose novels mix comedy, politics, social comment and action with a strong narrative.

David Hewson

David Hewson is a contemporary British author of mystery novels. His series of mysteries, featuring the young detective and art lover Nic Costa, began with A Season for the Dead.

Diana Gabaldon

Diana Gabaldon is the author of the award-winning, number one New York Times bestselling Outlander series, which has now been adapted into a hugely successful drama series.

Dorothy Dunnett

Dorothy Dunnett was a Scottish historical novelist. She is best known for her six-part series about Francis Crawford of Lymond, The Lymond Chronicles, which she followed with the eight-part prequel The House of Niccolò.

Hilary Mantel

Hilary Mantel is the two-time winner of the Man Booker Prize for her best-selling novels, Wolf Hall, and its sequel, Bring Up the Bodies—an unprecedented achievement.

Ian Rankin

Ian Rankin is a Scottish crime writer, best known for his Inspector Rebus novels.

Inga Simpson

Inga is the author of WHERE THE TREES WERE, NEST, and MR WIGG. Her eco-memoir, UNDERSTORY: a life with trees is out 1 June 2017.

James Lee Burke

James Lee Burke is an award-winning American author of mysteries. He is best known for his Dave Robicheaux series. He has won an Edgar Award for Black Cherry Blues and Cimarron Rose. James has also been presented with the Grand Master Award from the Mystery Writers of America.

Jojo Moyes

Jojo Moyes is an English journalist and, since 2002, a romance novelist. She is one of only a few authors to have twice won the Romantic Novel of the Year Award by the Romantic Novelists' Association and has been translated into eleven different languages.

John Sandford

John Sandford is an American novelist and former journalist who has won various awards, including the Pulitzer Prize for Feature Writing. Sandford’s early series would prove to grow a huge readership and following, particularly for the Prey series, starring Lucas Davenport.

Julian Stockwin

Born in 1944, Julian Stockwin soon developed a love for the sea in his home town of Basingstoke. Having an uncle, Tom Clay, who was a seaman in square-rigged ships and had sailed around Cape Horn in the Cutty Sark, the sea was in his blood.

Linda Fairstein

Linda Fairstein is an American author and former prosecutor focusing on crimes of violence. Her previous career path, before turning towards writing in 2002, has shaped the form of her Alexandra Cooper series, following the life and cases of a Manhattan prosecutor.

Marian Keyes

Marian Keyes is one of the most successful Irish novelists of all time, her modern fiction centralises around current issues including: addiction, depression, domestic violence, the glass ceiling and serious illness - all written with compassion, humour and hope.

Markus Zusak

Markus Zusak is an Australian writer who is best known for The Book Thief and The Messenger (US title, I Am the Messenger), two novels for young adults which have been international best-sellers.

Patricia Cornwell

Patricia Cornwell is a contemporary American crime writer. She is widely known for writing a popular series of novels featuring the heroine Dr. Kay Scarpetta, a medical examiner. Her books have sold more than 100 million copies.

Peter James

Peter James is an international best-selling British writer of crime fiction, writing over 28 novels, including the International best-selling crime thriller series featuring Brighton-based Detective Superintendent Roy Grace.

Philip Kerr

Philip Kerr is a British author and is writer of both adult fiction and non-fiction. Kerr is best known for the Bernie Gunther series of historical thrillers set in Germany and elsewhere during the 1930s, the Second World War and the Cold War.

Stieg Larsson

Stieg Larsson was a Swedish journalist and writer. He is best known for writing the hugely successful Millennium series of crime novels, which were published posthumously. Larsson lived much of his life in Stockholm and worked there in the field of journalism and as an independent researcher.

Sue Townsend

Susan Lillian "Sue" Townsend, FRSL was an English writer and humorist whose work encompasses novels, plays and works of journalism. She was best known for creating the character Adrian Mole.

The Medieval Murderers

The Medieval Murderers are a group of authors available for speaking events. The members are: Bernard Knight, Ian Morson, Michael Jecks, Karen Maitland, Susanna Gregory, Philip Gooden and CJ Sansom, and regularly attend literary events together or in smaller, more manageable groups.

Tim Weaver

Tim Weaver is an English writer primarily known for his crime thrillers featuring missing person’s investigator David Raker. Weaver’s latest novels, What Remains and Never Coming Back were Richard and Judy Book Club selections.

Val McDermid

Val McDermid is a hugely celebrated Scottish 'Tartan Noir’ crime writer, best known for a series of suspense novels featuring Dr. Tony Hill. McDermid's works fall into three series: Lindsay Gordon, Kate Brannigan, and the Tony Hill and Carol Jordan series.

Stay up to date with Wavesound news and announcements

telling your story